Marquis Athletes

March 16, 2010

Inspiring the Inspirational

Olympic Gold Medalist Rulon Gardner gets fan mail from all over the world, from the young and the old, but we wanted to share parts of this letter in particular, because it means so much to Rulon to hear from people like this-people who are truly an inspiration.

Dear Rulon,

I am a 65 year old ex-Husker wrestler. I also was raised on a farm….so I really identified with your book. I am writing from the hospital…as a result of the brutal cold weather we experienced these past few weeks and the result of me still trying to take care of farm animals during the blizzard….I learned from my dad, my older cousins, uncles and grandparents to keep pushing until you get the job done, no matter how tired or late it was…I am glad for it.

I love wrestling.

Over the last 40 years, I’ve coached club teams, park and rec programs and put on or helped at clinics and camps…even did some old timer tournaments.

Your book is so inspirational! As I read your book, I thought of myself often. I try to keep an extra copy or two of your book around to give out to youth that I think can benefit from reading it, and I also give it out at clinics and camps. I have always wanted to meet you in person. Someday we will meet….

Thanks again,

A Fan

Signed copies of Rulon Gardner’s book, “Never Stop Pushing” are available for sale via his website at www.rulongardner.com and events where he is speaking and/or coaching.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

