Marquis Athletes

March 13, 2007

How Did You Become a Sports Agent?

Filed under: Uncategorized — marquisathletes @ 9:59 pm

When speaking with group organizers I often get asked, “How did you become a sports agent?” Some people are stunned that I’m young and female in a profession full of older men, others have never know an agent personally and are just curious and still others have watched “Jerry McGuire” one too many times!

My first answer is usually, “Well, I have a law degree.” That usually explains it for most people, since they then realize I didn’t just happen upon this dream job, I actually went to school for 7 years for it. I then explain that while in law school I focused on corporate law and sports law, and interned (for free!) for every sports agent who would hire me. I worked 2-3 internships at a time, while attending law school full-time and working with my own clients. Before I went to law school, I’d begun helping some friends with their endorsement deals and marketing who were professional kayakers. I didn’t grow up my whole life wanting to be a sports agent (I actually wanted to be a veterinarian!), but I’ve been an athlete my entire life, I love being able to exercise my creativity and I love business. Being a sports agent was a great way to combine all my passions into one “dream job.”

If you’re a student out there wondering how you too can someday become a sports agent, here is my best advice…

1. Study very hard in school! Lots of people want to be agents, if you want to be considered, you’ll need good grades in High School to get into a good College or University, and good College/University grades to get into a good Law School.

2. Explore internship opportunities and don’t expect to be paid! Any good internship opportunity will have many, many people vying for consideration. You’ll be lucky if you get an interview! If you need to get paid, get a part-time job and intern the rest of the time. It’s the best way to learn about the business and make the connections you’ll need to get a job someday.

3. Go to law school. A law degree won’t guarantee you a job as an agent, but you won’t have much luck getting a job as an agent if you don’t have a law degree. Agents need to be able to write and negotiate contracts for their clients.

If you have any additional questions about becoming an agent, leave me a comment and I’d be happy to answer either in the comments or in a separate post! For more information about my background, visit www.marquisathletes.com/aboutus

3 Comments »

  1. I am a senior and graduate in 2009 and my desire is to become a sports agent. Ive already planed to get a law degree but what would be another degree to get besides a law degree in 4 years before law school?…like a buisness degree or something?

    Comment by schulze90 — December 16, 2008 @ 5:48 am | Reply

  2. Im a freshmen in college, and i wanted to persue a career in sports management(agent), and i want to know what major should i take before entering law school?

    Comment by reggie2009 — December 12, 2009 @ 6:08 am | Reply

  3. I think the most important thing is to choose a major you enjoy as an undergrad so you can do well enough to get into a good law school. That said, business is a good starting point. I double majored in Economics and Political Science and found my Economics degree to be much more helpful in law school, and now in the professional world.

    Danielle

    Comment by marquisathletes — March 9, 2010 @ 3:16 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

